North Fork Trip

October 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

Where is the North Fork?

 map from nyt

Chef Rich (an instructor at school) announced that he would be hosting a field trip to the North Fork. I had no clue where the North Fork was, but I signed up for the opportunity to milk a goat.

My classmates and I went on a two-hour bus ride and arrived at our first stop- Garden of Eve.

  Before we started our tour, Chef Rich brought us some breakfast. We had some mini cupcakes, cookies and cider. Yum yum yum! 🙂

1st : Garden of Eve – Organic Farm & Market

 sunchoke, fennel, beets, broccoli and more!

 fresh picked (pulled?) carrots

2nd : Macari Vineyards

 we tasted 4 wines

3rd : Catapano Goat Farm

 This is the reason why I signed up for the trip- very anti-climatic. I guess I thought I would be getting my hands and knees dirty filling buckets and buckets with milk. That was not advertised, only in my head.

We had one quick squeeze disposed to the ground…no buckets. The milking was not what I expected, but their gift shop left me completely satisfied. They sold an array of lotions and surprised me with a deliciously flavored honey lavender chevre.

4th : Greenport Harbor Brewing Company

We tried 3 or 4 different brews and got this awesome glass. I love their logo! It’s the North Fork/a whale. 🙂

5th : Pipes Cove Oysters 

This was my favorite stop. Even though I didn’t have any oysters, meeting the wonderful owners and this view was worth it.

I’ve never seen such beautiful pebbles and stones on any shore. I’m definitely not in Los Angeles anymore.

Our field trip was from 8am to 8pm. It was the longest and most fulfilling field trip I’ve ever been on. I was surrounded by wonderful people and amazing food. I can’t think of a better way to spend my Saturdays.

Wish you were here! 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading North Fork Trip at vegetarian recipes reviews & news.

meta

