Panko Crusted Lentil Loaf

June 7, 2011 § 3 Comments

About the Loaf

I didn’t think that I was a lentil loafy kind of person, but when I tried this recipe; I fell in love.

I adapted this recipe because I knew I could make something more delicious. Actually, I just forgot to buy all the ingredients. I was shocked by the taste because I didn’t notice the difference. I made the original many times before, but I plan on sticking with my own. It’s just as tasty, healthier and has a nice crunchy top.

◊Serves 6

Cookware

Ingredients

  • 1 pack of Trader Joe’s Steamed Lentils (wt. 17.6 oz.)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 medium to large zucchinis
  • 1 pack of TJ’s shredded carrots (2.5 cups)
  • 1/4 cup of water or veggie broth for lentils
  • 3/4 cup of water for tomato paste
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1 tbsp of dried basil
  • 1 tbsp of dried oregano
  • 2 tsp of garlic powder
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 6 oz. can of tomato paste
  • ~1 cup of Panko breadcrumbs (may need more or less to cover surface)

To Make

Step 1: chop onion and zucchini

Step 2: in saute pan on medium heat add olive oil, chopped zucchini, onion and shredded carrots till softened

Step 3: add vegetable broth and lentils then saute till incorporated

Step 4: add garlic powder, oregano, basil, salt and pepper (good time to taste test) turn off heat

Step 5: after desired taste, mix in two beaten eggs

Step 6: transfer to nonstick baking dish and preheat oven to 350°F

Step 7: in a bowl mix tomato paste and water then spread evenly

Step 8: on center rack bake for 35 mins then remove

Step 9: add panko breadcrumbs and return to oven for 15 mins

Crust should look like this

Serve and Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Panko Crusted Lentil Loaf

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Panko Crusted Lentil Loaf at vegetarian recipes reviews & news.

meta

