Trader Joe’s Basil Plant

May 12, 2011 § 4 Comments

photo taken after pruning (originally 1.5 ft. tall)

Basil is delicious. I grew up cooking with it and it’s a staple in my kitchen. I love fresh veggies, but the thought of gardening intimidates and bores me at the same time. This is my second plant. I had a tomato plant a year ago. It died not because of harsh weather, but complete lack of care. I wish I had the patience for gardening, but I don’t. Buying this plant was a stretch, but it was only fifty cents more than the pre-packaged basil. I decided to try it out.

Plant at Trader Joe’s: $2.99

Packaged Basil at Trader Joe’s: ~$2.50

The plant did not come with any clear instructions, so I just let it sit there for a day or two. The leaves looked like they were getting long so I panicked. Naturally, I turned to youtube to find my solution. The best I found was this guy.

After watching, I proceeded to prune my plant and was left with about three cups of fresh basil.

~3 cups of fresh basil

I’ve been trying to take care of my plant. We’ll see what happens.

If you do stop by Trader Joe’s, this would be a good buy even if you don’t like gardening.

Learn to make Creamy Yogurt Pesto.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Trader Joe’s Basil Plant

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trader Joe’s Basil Plant at vegetarian recipes reviews & news.

meta

